Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-08-2007, 08:53 AM   #1   [permalink]
3Magic Beans
Forum Master
 
3Magic Beans's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2 Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,450
Send a message via AIM to 3Magic Beans Send a message via MSN to 3Magic Beans
Unhappy HELP! Can't load some secure websites/programs

Sorry I'm not really sure where this question would go because I'm pretty retarded when it comes to computers, and when I tried to put it under systems (I.E. Microsoft) it wouldn't let me make the topic.

System: Windows XP
Internet: Broadband http://tpg.com.au/

Ever since a few days ago I have not been able to sign into some secure websites (gmail, myspace, msn messenger etc.) on any of my browsers (firefox, IE, etc.). I can get to the website, type in my user name/password etc. But as soon as I proceed, it will either load partially and fail, or not load at all. Like I said, I reformatted and ran several anti-virus programs, so a virus is not the issue. I'm not sure if it's an issue with our internet provider (broadband from http://tpg.com.au/), or if it's an issue with the firewall.

I really REALLY need to check my email and it's driving me crazy.

Please help!

I can give more info if needed.

Thanks

3mb
__________________
because it's cool

Last edited by 3Magic Beans; 23-08-2007 at 08:54 AM.
3Magic Beans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2007, 09:00 AM   #2   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
I guess you can check to ensure that your internet options aren't set to use a proxy server or something. Otherwise I'd use a packet sniffing program like Wireshark to monitor your connection to the secure web site, to see if you're even connecting to it.

It very well could be a problem with your ISP, but they'll blame the problem on your equipment until you can prove otherwise.
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2007, 09:14 AM   #3   [permalink]
3Magic Beans
Forum Master
 
3Magic Beans's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2 Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,450
Send a message via AIM to 3Magic Beans Send a message via MSN to 3Magic Beans
Originally Posted by raynebc
I guess you can check to ensure that your internet options aren't set to use a proxy server or something. Otherwise I'd use a packet sniffing program like Wireshark to monitor your connection to the secure web site, to see if you're even connecting to it.

It very well could be a problem with your ISP, but they'll blame the problem on your equipment until you can prove otherwise.
I am starting to believe it is an issue with the ISP because we have tried everything and this started very randomly Tuesday morning. My internet/comp was running a little slower than usual so I restarted. Before restarting, I was emailing my parents and chatting on MSN live messenger. As soon as the computer restarted, none of those websites loaded anymore and I could not get back into MSN.

Like I said, it all happened very randomly. We didn't change any settings prior to this happening. I contacted the ISP about it but they cannot email me since I can't get into my email(s). It's insanely frustrating.
__________________
because it's cool
3Magic Beans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2007, 08:05 AM   #4   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
Try flushing the dns and empying your cache

run- cmd
ipconfig /flushdns (yes there is a space)

empty everything from cached IE. close it down and see

ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2007, 11:13 AM   #5   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
Try power cycling your modem as well.
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 01:52 AM   #6   [permalink]
3Magic Beans
Forum Master
 
3Magic Beans's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2 Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,450
Send a message via AIM to 3Magic Beans Send a message via MSN to 3Magic Beans
Ok the problem is solved. We called our ISP and they were pretty much unhelpful idiots. It was some sort of issues with our wireless router. Once we removed it things started working correctly. I don't know why we didn't think about doing it sooner but we thought it wasn't going to be an easy fix. Now we just have to figure out why our router was causing the problem.
__________________
because it's cool

Last edited by 3Magic Beans; 25-08-2007 at 11:13 AM.
3Magic Beans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 07:30 AM   #7   [permalink]
mrgazpacho
Forum Master
 
mrgazpacho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5 Nov 2000
Location: Wollongong, Oz. Male.
Posts: 2,853
I'm with TPG... their customer service is legendarily bad. Even before they outsourced it to the Phillippines.

I have NetComm NB9W from them... it's a bit flaky.
__________________
Chris
mrgazpacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem Chikiboo Hardware 8 30-05-2002 09:10 PM
FFX images for those of you who couldn't see the TGS Mpeg... will take time to load. heart havok Final Fantasy 5 09-04-2001 11:22 PM
Forum load and response time ? eva2000 Contact Admin Archive 6 02-07-2000 09:52 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.