Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-04-2001, 03:22 AM   #1   [permalink]
suzaku
Forum Master
 
suzaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25 Feb 2001
Location: Cephiro
Posts: 3,255
Send a message via ICQ to suzaku Send a message via AIM to suzaku Send a message via Yahoo to suzaku
i have 2 computers and i want to connect them using ethernet and i was wondering, should i use a hub or somethin' else???
__________________
When in doubt with thoughts, one must drink a cup of sake
suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2001, 07:26 AM   #2   [permalink]
gaspacho soup
Forum Master
 
Join Date: 25 Jun 2000
Posts: 2,237
Send a message via ICQ to gaspacho soup Send a message via AIM to gaspacho soup
A hub? nah

if it's a 2 computer network all you'll need is a crossover cable.
gaspacho soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2001, 11:53 AM   #3   [permalink]
suzaku
Forum Master
 
suzaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25 Feb 2001
Location: Cephiro
Posts: 3,255
Send a message via ICQ to suzaku Send a message via AIM to suzaku Send a message via Yahoo to suzaku
OIC...thanx for the tip
__________________
When in doubt with thoughts, one must drink a cup of sake
suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2001, 05:29 PM   #4   [permalink]
Mercedes Dealer
Executive Member
 
Join Date: 7 Apr 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 260
WinME has a program to connect for you.
Mercedes Dealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2001, 12:03 AM   #5   [permalink]
Drizzten
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
Drizzten's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Sep 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 13,383
Send a message via AIM to Drizzten
...but you'll still need to connect them somehow. gaspacho soup has it right.
__________________
Magnifisyncopathological, because other people are not your property.
Drizzten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2001, 02:38 AM   #6   [permalink]
Viola
Senior Member
 
Viola's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7 Apr 2001
Location: In a galaxy far far away
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to Viola Send a message via Yahoo to Viola
If you are wanting the ability to have three or more computers connected then you would need a hub. If you want your somputers to share your internet connection you would need a LAN modem.
Viola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2001, 11:48 AM   #7   [permalink]
Larva
Executive Member
 
Larva's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 Apr 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 349
Send a message via ICQ to Larva Send a message via AIM to Larva
Quote:
Originally posted by Viola
If you are wanting the ability to have three or more computers connected then you would need a hub. If you want your somputers to share your internet connection you would need a LAN modem.
Actually in Windows 2k and above there is an internet connection sharing option so all you would need is for one computer to be connected to the internet.

Larva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2001, 11:35 AM   #8   [permalink]
3rd Child
Forum Addicted
 
3rd Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 Mar 2001
Location: In a happy place.
Posts: 1,379
Actually you can do that with win9x... You just needed some prog to do that...

Hub isn't required if you make a Token ring or BNC network... But for a beginner I'd recommend normal rj45 net...
__________________
On the savannah a lion licks a wounded gnu
To honor this moment even the Heavens cease


Nightwish - A return to the sea
3rd Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2001, 10:33 AM   #9   [permalink]
Larva
Executive Member
 
Larva's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 Apr 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 349
Send a message via ICQ to Larva Send a message via AIM to Larva
Just grab a patch cable and set it up with netbeui if you are not sharing an internet connection, and use TCP/IP if you are.
Larva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2001, 10:58 AM   #10   [permalink]
3rd Child
Forum Addicted
 
3rd Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 Mar 2001
Location: In a happy place.
Posts: 1,379
NETbeui is ***********************. Almost every new game supports tcp-ip, and I recommend it over any ips/spx thingys...
__________________
On the savannah a lion licks a wounded gnu
To honor this moment even the Heavens cease


Nightwish - A return to the sea
3rd Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2001, 08:12 AM   #11   [permalink]
bloodgod
Forum Master
 
bloodgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Aug 2000
Posts: 2,309
NETbeui SuX. Nobody uses it.
And it'z the easyest protocol 2 hack

A Hub sux 2!
U should by a Switch instead.
U can get a Rubbytech 4 about us$100

O' TCP/IP sux 2!
IPX/SPX 4 ever!

UR Subnet mask should be set to 255.255.255.0
And U should plaze all 'putes in the same IP class (or it gonna go LaAaG)
bloodgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2001, 09:25 AM   #12   [permalink]
3rd Child
Forum Addicted
 
3rd Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 Mar 2001
Location: In a happy place.
Posts: 1,379
I think subnet should be: 257.255.255.0 If it doesn't accpet that try again.
__________________
On the savannah a lion licks a wounded gnu
To honor this moment even the Heavens cease


Nightwish - A return to the sea
3rd Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2001, 06:45 PM   #13   [permalink]
gaspacho soup
Forum Master
 
Join Date: 25 Jun 2000
Posts: 2,237
Send a message via ICQ to gaspacho soup Send a message via AIM to gaspacho soup
Quote:
Originally posted by bloodgod
NETbeui SuX. Nobody uses it.
And it'z the easyest protocol 2 hack

A Hub sux 2!
U should by a Switch instead.
U can get a Rubbytech 4 about us$100

yeah but switches costs a lot more. For a 2 - 4 node network you wouldn't need one one anyway, the performance is still much the same.

3rd child: eh? don't you mean 255.255.255.0? 257 isn't possible.

Last edited by gaspacho soup; 09-05-2001 at 09:43 PM.
gaspacho soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2001, 02:49 AM   #14   [permalink]
3rd Child
Forum Addicted
 
3rd Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11 Mar 2001
Location: In a happy place.
Posts: 1,379
*shhhh! They don't need to know!* Sorry that thing is a bit insider... I told my friend to do that. (I meant to tease him) Next day I heard he had spent 2 hours trying to do just that!
__________________
On the savannah a lion licks a wounded gnu
To honor this moment even the Heavens cease


Nightwish - A return to the sea
3rd Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
the infamous ethernet adapter... Atticus Playstation / Playstation 2 1 08-08-2003 10:38 AM
ethernet trouble. 3Magic Beans Hardware 5 31-05-2003 02:37 PM
networking gaspacho soup Hardware 8 25-01-2001 11:02 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.