Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2003, 07:02 PM   #16   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
I could look this up myself, but I wager you guys know about this. If I want to use the router on the modem, would I have to install a network adapter for the computer the modem is CURRENTLY connected to? If I have to buy a router and 2 network adapters, and then have them installed (I wouldn't want to do it myself, I'm not much of a mechanical person), it would turn out to be quite a bit of money...
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 08:11 AM   #17   [permalink]
Kawanua the Samurai
Forum Master
 
Kawanua the Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jan 2001
Location: A specific position or place
Posts: 5,670
Send a message via AIM to Kawanua the Samurai
My friends got the cable net and he has the same hub.

hub hub hub
Kawanua the Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 04:27 AM   #18   [permalink]
Kawanua the Samurai
Forum Master
 
Kawanua the Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jan 2001
Location: A specific position or place
Posts: 5,670
Send a message via AIM to Kawanua the Samurai
Hey hey hey people. Guess who's on the net with their new computer!

^^ hub works fine fine...
Kawanua the Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 05:02 AM   #19   [permalink]
kasper
Forum Junkie
 
kasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14 Jan 2002
Location: i am a puyalluputian
Posts: 890
good choice... i guess..
kasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2003, 07:49 AM   #20   [permalink]
Kawanua the Samurai
Forum Master
 
Kawanua the Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jan 2001
Location: A specific position or place
Posts: 5,670
Send a message via AIM to Kawanua the Samurai
yeah great choice, only problem is that my sisters hdd are 98 SE..

------- obselite (sp?) OS. Pissing me off. None of the drivers for the network card work. THe Floppy i got with it doesn't even have drivers!!! XP is good for somethings...
Kawanua the Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 06:02 AM   #21   [permalink]
Butters
Forum Master
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,181
Send a message via ICQ to Butters
You like playing games a lot right? I've seen routers have a bit of trouble with ip addresses and the like.

My friend was hosting a game among friends and he was using a router to connect but it was really troublesome to get it working. Its an inconvenience, so I chose a hub instead. Sure I have to leave the comp on if someone else wants to use the net over the network, but I'd rather do that than go through all that bs
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 05:30 AM   #22   [permalink]
gaspacho soup
Forum Master
 
Join Date: 25 Jun 2000
Posts: 2,237
Send a message via ICQ to gaspacho soup Send a message via AIM to gaspacho soup
Quote:
Originally posted by Butters
You like playing games a lot right? I've seen routers have a bit of trouble with ip addresses and the like.

My friend was hosting a game among friends and he was using a router to connect but it was really troublesome to get it working. Its an inconvenience, so I chose a hub instead. Sure I have to leave the comp on if someone else wants to use the net over the network, but I'd rather do that than go through all that bs
hey, long time no see

yeah but it'd only be troublsome the first time. Once you figure out how to set up your ACL (or whatever alternative you use) properly then it shouldn't be a problem ever again.
gaspacho soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2003, 07:19 AM   #23   [permalink]
Kawanua the Samurai
Forum Master
 
Kawanua the Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jan 2001
Location: A specific position or place
Posts: 5,670
Send a message via AIM to Kawanua the Samurai
I went hub. mini hub 5 port a really reliable one. Now I get....CABLE!!! w000t!
Kawanua the Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2004, 04:41 AM   #24   [permalink]
kasper
Forum Junkie
 
kasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14 Jan 2002
Location: i am a puyalluputian
Posts: 890
well.. the reason routers are not really that great for games is cause of the DCHP service that most of them run, it gives you an IP address and.. um. port blocking.. other things like that

usually routers are most secure than hubs are.. smarter too..
if i remember right.. if your on cable internet, its wiser to have a router or seomthing that will give you a DHCP servive to your LAN, if not.. while using a hub directly to you r internet 1) each computer has to get an IP address from the server at your ISP ( usually they don't like that, multi-Ips for one house) and also.. modern routers have builtin firewalls, stuff like that to be just that more secure from the outside world..
kasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2004, 10:14 AM   #25   [permalink]
nakey
Senior Member
 
nakey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26 Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 220
Originally Posted by kasper
well.. the reason routers are not really that great for games is cause of the DCHP service that most of them run, it gives you an IP address and.. um. port blocking.. other things like that
The DHCP service just allocates an IP to a network device. If there's anything that a router does is going to be a pain for games, then it's going to be Network Address Translation (NAT). NAT's the thing that lets a bunch of computers share a single public IP address.

There's also the possibility that the SPI firewall wasn't configured properly.

As i don't play Internet games (the Internet alone is big enough to keep me entertained...), i don't know how exactly to fix that but i assume that you'd just have to forward the ports that you need through the NAT or define an IP and ports that are instantly translated without removing Public IP access...
nakey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.