Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-09-2002, 10:28 PM   #31   [permalink]
SamIam
Forum Master
 
SamIam's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Nov 2000
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 3,557
Quote:
Originally posted by stdio.h
YEAY!!! SUCCESS.

I installed it without a hitch. Good show I suppose.

My computer is not taking years to run at least. Now I have other problems like my monitor..... Too many things to buy....... dammit scarcity.
... Good to hear that your upgrade went well!

.... heres a low cost way... to increase performance... if you haven't already, off load (burn to cdr) data files and uninstall programs that you don't use. next, do a clean up of your internet cache (recommend systemworks 2002) and finally defragment your drive.

A leaner harddrive with fewer contiguous files will maximize your drive throughput - due to much less drive head "seek" and a simpler more organized file structure.

... also check to see that you have the latest drivers and patches for your hardware and OS.

SamIam
SamIam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 06:11 PM   #32   [permalink]
Takahashi
Forum Master
 
Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Mar 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Send a message via ICQ to Takahashi
Some pictures of my systems.
On my desk, my Laptop and my TV and big mess, but don't mind that

Clear picture of my Logitech Cordless Mouseman Optical and the Logitech Cordless Desktop Optical set.

Pictures of the two transceiver on my center speaker, right behind my Laptop.

Here is a picture to indicate how tall the server Tower is.

Last edited by Takahashi; 19-09-2002 at 06:16 PM.
Takahashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 06:28 PM   #33   [permalink]
Takahashi
Forum Master
 
Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Mar 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Send a message via ICQ to Takahashi
Some more pictures.

A statue of the Darkness on top of my TV.

Buddha is watching over my Network connection
(he sits on the switch if you haven't notice)

My laptop again(Damnable Intel P3 900Mhz).

Side view of my server(AMD 1,4 Ghz Thunderbird).

A look inside shows what a messy person I am.

Yes you saw it right, my maxtor is lying on the bottom of the case, cause the damn IDE cable won't reach any higher into the case.

Front view of my server.

My second AMD system(1,0Ghz Thunderbird).
Takahashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2002, 09:47 PM   #34   [permalink]
Dragon of Fury
Executive Member
 
Dragon of Fury's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Nov 2000
Location: Location: -Houston, Texas
Posts: 770
Send a message via ICQ to Dragon of Fury Send a message via AIM to Dragon of Fury Send a message via Yahoo to Dragon of Fury
My freakin GOD!!? That is one cool computer and it is a bit messy in there but you should try getting an 11 drive IDE Cable(such as the one in my comp) and turning it into a Rounded IDE Cable to save space and be able to place your Maxtor in one of the drive bays.

There are many guides to making your own Rounded IDE Cables online of course so go on search away!

Your server tower is really cool and I love the pics. I especially love the Darkness statue you have. The Eva collectible is really cool as well.

I feel all three of your babies(computers+labtop) are overloaded with power.

Of course, I'll deem any computer cool when you have it hooked up to a nice, big tv!



YOU HAVE MY DREAM KEYBOARD!!

Southpark's Kyle: YOU BASTARD!!!
__________________
Volcanic Dragon Enterprises

Born To Raise Hell!!!:evil:
Dragon of Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2002, 02:52 AM   #35   [permalink]
Takahashi
Forum Master
 
Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Mar 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Send a message via ICQ to Takahashi
You see the drive in the top right above my DVD, its on its own IDE cable 45 cm long, its just barely reach it and IDE cable any longer than 45 cm are bound to cause interference and bad through put signal, its like two women(drive and IDE controller) talking to each other and than you add a third, there just no way the drive can keep up with the conversation. Thats why I am looking forward to Serial ATA, or if I can ever afford it SCSI. Right now I am thinking of going external, either USB2.0 or Firewire, heat buildup in my system is abnormally high(Case temperature 33C and 62C CPU), four HD spinning 24/7 is probably the reason why it so hot.

The case itself is 68 cm high, so the IDE cable will never reach to the top 4 drive bays, noway of working around it except for SCSI.
Takahashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2002, 06:41 AM   #36   [permalink]
Butters
Forum Master
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,181
Send a message via ICQ to Butters
Speaking of keyboards, does anyone know of any keyboard which is soft touch? I'm making too much noise and I wake certain family members up who are adjacent to my computer room ^^
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2002, 08:20 AM   #37   [permalink]
Takahashi
Forum Master
 
Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Mar 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Send a message via ICQ to Takahashi
Well, my Logitech Cordless Keyboard is very quiet, but I don't know if you would consider spending that much money for a keyboard. Best advice I can give you, go to a reseller try out some of their offering on display, see which keyboard that suits your need.
Takahashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2002, 09:16 AM   #38   [permalink]
GuGuEaTeR
Forum Master
 
GuGuEaTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 Dec 2001
Location: Stratosphere
Posts: 2,271
Send a message via AIM to GuGuEaTeR Send a message via MSN to GuGuEaTeR
i've know where i can get one of those 99% rubber ones. they are bendable, VERY thin (i think about 1cm? 1.5cm? at the most tallest(?) spot) and make absolutely no noise. too bad the ergonomics aren't very good. but hey, they are silent. (the keyboard is actually able to see through! sweet!)
__________________
mplayer > * media players, period.
GuGuEaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2002, 01:41 PM   #39   [permalink]
Magnus9
Forum Addicted
 
Magnus9's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 Dec 2000
Location: In a box...its a big box...
Posts: 1,459
Send a message via AIM to Magnus9 Send a message via MSN to Magnus9
GODDAMN!!! U need to do some cleaning in that server there Takahashi!!

Anyway heres my stats

SOYO SY-KT333 DRAGON Ultra
AMD AthlonXp 2000+ overclocked to 1.8 ghz
ThermalTake Volcano 7
80Gig Maxtor 7200RPM
Lite-On 32x12X40x CD-Burner
Iomega External 250 MB Zip Drive
PNY Technologies GeForce4 TI4400
ViewSonic 17 inch monitor
Saitek Blue Optical mouse - I only got it cuz it glows blue
D-Link 1.44 Floppy Drive
1 GB DDR
Vantec Tornado Case Fan - Loud MF but keeps everything cool
350 Watt Power Supply
ATX Black Full-Tower Case w/ window Kit

Ill try to take some pictures to post up here for all of you to see.

And I will be upgrading very soon...as soon as my tutition reimbursement check from work gets here.
__________________
"I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes." -J.D. Salinger

Life is Peachy
Magnus9
Magnus9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2002, 08:02 PM   #40   [permalink]
Dragon of Fury
Executive Member
 
Dragon of Fury's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Nov 2000
Location: Location: -Houston, Texas
Posts: 770
Send a message via ICQ to Dragon of Fury Send a message via AIM to Dragon of Fury Send a message via Yahoo to Dragon of Fury
Takahashi add a few cooling systems to the csae itself. Case fans, PCI slot system coolers, and thing of the such. You might want to upgrade you CPU fan as well. This will bring down the heat in your case. Also, I suggested you do custom round ide cables cause all those normal flat IDE cables block and slow down the airflow in your case. Thus, creating more heat.

The ideas you have for your case are not bad but be careful when going USB. It looks junky enough around your computer area and USB drives need room to breathe.
__________________
Volcanic Dragon Enterprises

Born To Raise Hell!!!:evil:
Dragon of Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2002, 06:57 AM   #41   [permalink]
Nulani
Forum Master
 
Nulani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Dec 2000
Location: Norway.
Posts: 6,840
Send a message via ICQ to Nulani Send a message via AIM to Nulani Send a message via MSN to Nulani Send a message via Yahoo to Nulani
Stationary; hijacked from my stepdad, aka, password blocked everything.
  • ABIT KG7.
  • AMD Duron 1.2gHz
  • 256 DDR-RAM.
  • AOPEN 8x (?) DVD-ROM.
  • ATI-Rage Fury 128 32MB<-- amazingly, it's still working.
  • Targa 17".
  • WD 15GB & 20GB, IBM 60GB.
  • 300W Power Supply.
  • Logitech iFeel optical mouse.
  • Key Tronic ergoforce keyboard.
  • Creative 128bit Soundcard.
I got no idea bout the rest...

Laptop; "borrowing".
  • Dell Inspiron 4100.
  • Intel PIII 1.13gHz.
  • 256 SDRAM.
  • GeForce2 Go-200 32MB.
  • UXGA 1600x1200.
  • Cirrus Logic CS4205.
  • DVD/CD/CD-RW Combo - thing.
__________________
Evil is Good.
Evil.

Last edited by Nulani; 22-09-2002 at 07:02 AM.
Nulani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.