Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2002, 04:03 PM   #16   [permalink]
stdio.h
Forum Addicted
 
Join Date: 29 Nov 2000
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to stdio.h
Quote:
Originally posted by Dragon of Fury
Looks at stdio.h comp stats....

That's a geat joke!!

a 697 Celeron! My god, it sounds worse than the POS GateWay I had a long time ago!
I got it I think 2 years ago brand new for like $700US without a monitor...not too bad at the time.

If I make it faster it is reasonable, right?? I am not all that good with computer hardware, so let me ask. What do I need to do in order to upgrade it or whatever the term is so that I do not have to wait 5-10 minutes to boot up and finish loading Microsoft XP Pro? I assume there is something I can buy and install.....64MB Ram is terrible. And it takes me 10 minutes to load Sim Golf. To get on the internet takes several minutes. Oh, and the monitor I am using STINKS. HELP!
__________________
Tony Robbins Hungry

Last edited by stdio.h; 09-09-2002 at 04:04 PM.
stdio.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 07:14 PM   #17   [permalink]
SamIam
Forum Master
 
SamIam's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Nov 2000
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 3,557
Quote:
Originally posted by stdio.h
I'll blow you all away.

Dell.....erm.

697 Celeron
64MB RAM
20 Gigs Mem.
CDRW (a generic one)
Crappy 1 inch microphone (that is the technical name)
Lexmark Z32 Printer
CTX Color Monitor
Dell Quietkey Keyboard
Generic Speakers
Over a 56K Modem (runs at like 15% that with phone line)
Uh...a floppy.
Micro innovations mouse (I use an old one because the side is flat so that I can play games and use a straight edge)
Running WXP2K2
The whole thing is a Dimension L700cx

Ha ha ha beat that!
Well the most effective single upgrade that I would recommend is to boost your ram ... if your system is 2 years old, it's probably running pc 100 SDRAM ... (very cheap on todays market)...

As an example, here are some reference prices from Computergate.com

PC-100 DIMM MEMORY
Options: Manufacturer: Choose a Manufacturer CORSAIR GENERIC Sort By: Manufacturer Price -- Low to High Price -- High to Low SKU


SKU

Manuf.

Manuf. Part #

Price

Product Description (click any column for more info)
Hide Images



ISRC64P
COR
CM654S64-BX
$24.95/ea
Corsair PC100 64MB 8Mx64,168-pin DIMM SDRAM,CAS3,No ECC,3.3V,UBF,SPD
Great for system upgrade



ISRM256P
GAD
ISRM256P
$32.95/ea
Generic PC100 256MB 32x64,168-pin DIMM SDRAM, with Micron Memory
Improves productivity with faster processing time



ISR128P
GAD
ISR128P
$19.95/ea
Generic PC100 128MB 16x64,168-pin DIMM SDRAM,3.3V,CAS3
To upgrade PC System



ISR256P
GAD
ISR256P
$49.95/ea
256MB PC-100 SDRAM Memory,32x64 168-Pin




ISR64P
GAD
ISR64P
$14.95/ea
Generic PC100 64MB 8x64, 168-pin DIMM SDRAM, CAS3, 3.3V, UBF
For System Upgrade


As you can see, the prices are very low... the one I would by in your case would be something like the Micron 256 DIMM for 33$

Keep in mind, XP will ... run ... with 64 megs, but is designed for a "real world" low end limit of 128 megs, and would run best with 256 megs of ram ... after that, the it's a case of diminishing returns.

The next upgrade would be for a new harddrive that supports either ata 100 or 133

SamIam
SamIam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2002, 10:23 PM   #18   [permalink]
stdio.h
Forum Addicted
 
Join Date: 29 Nov 2000
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to stdio.h
Quote:
Originally posted by SamIam


Well the most effective single upgrade that I would recommend is to boost your ram ... if your system is 2 years old, it's probably running pc 100 SDRAM ... (very cheap on todays market)...

The next upgrade would be for a new harddrive that supports either ata 100 or 133

SamIam
Wow, that is going to be helpful. First, is there a compadibility problem when purchasing this equipment, and how difficult is it to physically install??

Also, is the latter upgrade much more optional than the former, given my current situation?

Priority on the first question!!

SamIAint
__________________
Tony Robbins Hungry
stdio.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 12:59 AM   #19   [permalink]
SamIam
Forum Master
 
SamIam's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Nov 2000
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 3,557
Quote:
Originally posted by stdio.h


Wow, that is going to be helpful. First, is there a compadibility problem when purchasing this equipment, and how difficult is it to physically install??

Also, is the latter upgrade much more optional than the former, given my current situation?

Priority on the first question!!

SamIAint
I looked up your model and found out that it is pc 100 168 pin DIMM... unfortunately I found out that the memory is proprietary .... which means that you would have to buy memory made specifically for your unit... which is not bad really, once you know that this exists... this does make it a little more expensive though... for example Crucial.com lists compatible memory for your machine at about 52$ for 256 megs... (about 5$ less if you order online... or about 26$ for a stick of 128

... as for changing memory, it is very easy... just ground your self on a bare metal frame or powersupply of your Pc (which should be off) ... next remove the tower door or desk top case cover by means of screws in the back.

... with the case open, (ground yourself once again ... and if you have carpet ... don't shuffle your feet! ) take a small flashlight and locate the 2-4 banks for your DIMM memory. I am guessing here, but I think you would only have 1 64 meg DIMM and something like 3 Memory slots total...

Now notice that the your memory module has an asymmetrical grouping of pins which correspond to the correct orientaion for insertion into the memory slot.

Lay the case gently on it side so that the motherboard is parallell with the work surface, you will need this extra bracing because memory insertion can sometimes require a bit of effort ...

1:
Double check the alignment of the pin arrangement (the memory module can only go in one way CORRECTLY.

2.
Ground yourself once more on the case

3.
Gently align the memory in the slot, paying particular attention to the two end locking lugs....

4.
With a soft "rocking motion" push the memory chip into the socket ... noting an unusual resistance... stop if you feel either the mobo or DIMM start to flex.

5.
Continuing with this slow and gentle rocking motion, you should notice that the DIMM is now beginning to seat itself into the socket... pay close attention to the end locking lugs, they will begin to close as the DIMM seats deeper into the memory socket... the locking lugs will flush against the sides of the DIMM locking into notches to secure the memory in place, once you see this, the memory is properly seated.

6. while your at it, do a quick visual inspection of your internal hardware, (have on hand a can of compressed air) use this compressed air to shoot out any accumulations of dust that may have settled into your case, this will help to prevent the insulating effects of a layer of dust and possible shorts due to moisture being traped by clumps of dust ... which happen to come into contact and compete a circuit (ouch!).... bad mobo mojo!

7.
put the case back on, fasten the screws and power up ... note the start up screen to see if you system recognizes the additional ram just installed ...


... as for the hard drive, as long as you have a cd burner, you can off load your drive to give youself additonal storage... so not as important as doing a ram upgrade.

SamIam

Last edited by SamIam; 10-09-2002 at 04:12 AM.
SamIam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 01:48 AM   #20   [permalink]
gaspacho soup
Forum Master
 
Join Date: 25 Jun 2000
Posts: 2,237
Send a message via ICQ to gaspacho soup Send a message via AIM to gaspacho soup
nothing special on mine,

AMD athlon 1.3ghz
256mb SDRAM
40gig 7200rpm seagate HDD
Geforce 4 MX 640
16x CD-RW
300watt 3 piece speaker setup
17" acer monitor
MS optical intellimouse

Last edited by gaspacho soup; 10-09-2002 at 01:51 AM.
gaspacho soup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 08:50 AM   #21   [permalink]
Sagara
Executive Member
 
Sagara's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Feb 2002
Location: Most livable city in the world?
Posts: 342
Send a message via ICQ to Sagara
AMD K6-2 417 mhz (with rusted 5 year old fan)
Epox mvp3 socket 7 m/b
40gig seagate 7200rpm, 8.2gig gerneric 5400rpm
ViewSonic 15" E653 monitor
MSI 40x12x40 CD-RW
50x ??? CD-ROM
GeForce 4 mx 440 graph card
192 MB SDram
240 watt 3 bay midi tower
2ch sound card(thinking of upgrading to sound blaster vibra128)
Conexant 56K modem
Netgear 10/100 ethernet card
__________________
Those who dare stand in between me and victory, is destined to meet others that has fallen against me in the past.
Sagara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 05:44 AM   #22   [permalink]
Butters
Forum Master
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Jun 2001
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,181
Send a message via ICQ to Butters
Heres what I have now:

1600+
256 PC2100
40 & 60GB Maxtor
GF3Ti200
SB Live! DE 5.1 [this has caused me so many problems!]
40*16*10 CDRW [it no longer gives me coasters since I exchanged it ]
16* LiteON DVD

Thats about it. I'm pretty content with it and I won't be needing to make any upgrade on it for ages. I don't really think I can make anymore upgrades without replacing anything except RAM, but I don't think I need anymore
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 07:07 AM   #23   [permalink]
GuGuEaTeR
Forum Master
 
GuGuEaTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 Dec 2001
Location: Stratosphere
Posts: 2,271
Send a message via AIM to GuGuEaTeR Send a message via MSN to GuGuEaTeR
MAGI-Australia (formerly Gugueater's Box)

Athlon 1.4Ghz => 1.6 overclocked
ABIT motherboard
256Mb SDRAM
2Gb 7200rpm
30Gb 7200rpm => two 15Gb
TNT2 Riva M64
HP72 17" monitor
Samsung DVD-ROM
Diamond Data 40x16x10 CDRW
Sound Blaster 16

that's it, upgrading soon
__________________
mplayer > * media players, period.
GuGuEaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 07:25 AM   #24   [permalink]
wankersann13
Senior Member
 
wankersann13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27 Mar 2002
Location: Aussie
Posts: 173
Thumbs up

apple I book - Ice edition 2 dv

256mb sd pc100 ram
700mhz processor
15" tft screen (i think)
ATi rage 32mb
10gb hdd
combo drive - 24x16x40x10dvd
100/10mb ethernet
56k modem

apple imac - not the lamp one

600mhz
512SR ram
32mb Ati Rage
2 dv
2 usb
20gb hdd (dunno the speed)
cd 40x drive
15" screen
Karwon speakers 3d

Home made

amd athlon 1800+
512mb ram ddr
gigabtye GA 7ZXE
64 mb geforce 2 400mx w/tv out
buggered 24x16x40 cdrw drive
52x acer cd rom
40gb hdd - 10gb to linux 7200rpm
56k modem
100/10 eithernet card
4 bay 350w case ATX

Brought from harvey norman (rippof)

AMD Duron (at type) 600mhz
gigabyte addlian motherbaor with 2x agp
128mb ram
20gb hadd - 10 to linux 7200rpm
8mb video
32x cdrom dimaond data
100/10 mb ethernet
56k modem
^my server

macs run 0S x- OS 9
pcs both run - Linux Mandrax 8.2 and server runs 2000 and fast one runs 98
have a 100mb switch and a 512k connection and have connected next door to my network!

I own them all
__________________
Waldoishere
OWUPT
Windows has no securtiy
wankersann13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2002, 10:52 PM   #25   [permalink]
stdio.h
Forum Addicted
 
Join Date: 29 Nov 2000
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to stdio.h
SamIam:

I think this is my best bet from Crucial.com:

256MB $46.99 $42.29 CT207869 SDRAM, PC133 CL=2
Non-parity

Sound good?

And thanks again for being so helpful...you are spending too much time worrying about my baka computer!
__________________
Tony Robbins Hungry
stdio.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 12:50 AM   #26   [permalink]
SamIam
Forum Master
 
SamIam's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Nov 2000
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 3,557
Quote:
Originally posted by stdio.h
SamIam:

I think this is my best bet from Crucial.com:

256MB $46.99 $42.29 CT207869 SDRAM, PC133 CL=2
Non-parity

Sound good?

And thanks again for being so helpful...you are spending too much time worrying about my baka computer!

Dimension L700cx

hmmm... I see the options here, you have two choices... go with the pc100 or pc133...

Well, pc133 is backwards compatible with pc100 systems and it does offer better bandwidth... personally, I would pick up the model you chose ( CT207869 ) and REMOVE the original memory ... I would do this for 2 reasons:

1. I am confident you have pc100 in your system ... the thing I don't know is the CAS latency of this memory... this rating governs the instruction cycle speed (lower number is better) ... I am guessing that you have CAS 2.5 or 3 for your Celeron setup...
... while pc 133 is backward compatible, it is usually not a good idea to mix modules ... especially if there are differences in both the "bandwidth speed (pc100-pc133) AND the CAS latency ...

3. The fewer the memory modules you have, the simpler the memory mapping path ... thus faster... there are slight but cumulative speed penalties for memory interaction between modules.


IMO the module you picked is a good choice ... thumbs up!


SamIam
SamIam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2002, 05:08 PM   #27   [permalink]
Sakuya
Executive Member
 
Sakuya's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Sep 2000
Location: Fujiwara Tofu Shop
Posts: 265
nothing special.. here's my current specs

Intel P4 2.4Ghz 533FSB
512MB Kingmax 400MHz DDR (with thermaltake heat spreaders)
Epox 4G4A+ Motherboard
Asus 128MB GF4 Ti 4600
80 Gig Western Digital HDD 8MB Buffer
30 Gig IBM GXP75 HDD
24x10x40 Plextor Burner
16x Pioneer DVD Slot Drive
SB Audigy Platinum
Altec Lansing 621 Speakers
KDS Rad-5 LCD Monitor
Cordless Logitech Keyboard and mouse
450W Powersupply
Aopen Full Tower case and a few thermaltake fan mods inside.
Sakuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2002, 12:25 AM   #28   [permalink]
Dragon of Fury
Executive Member
 
Dragon of Fury's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Nov 2000
Location: Location: -Houston, Texas
Posts: 770
Send a message via ICQ to Dragon of Fury Send a message via AIM to Dragon of Fury Send a message via Yahoo to Dragon of Fury
Cool

See's everyone computer stats! Geez, I'm further behind than I thought!

To SamIam:

Your computer advice is really a great help and even I am learning a thing or two. You're a freaking genius!!!

Eva2k your computers look sweet! Love those hard drive coolers!

MORE PICS PEOPLE!!! MORE PICS!!!

This thread is getting better and better!
__________________
Volcanic Dragon Enterprises

Born To Raise Hell!!!:evil:
Dragon of Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2002, 01:13 AM   #29   [permalink]
stdio.h
Forum Addicted
 
Join Date: 29 Nov 2000
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to stdio.h
According to the Federal Express website, my RAM is sitting a few blocks from my house in a FED EX building. I have to wait until the end of the weekend...and then my RAM IS HERE!


My computer which is overseeing everything I type must be ecstatic.
__________________
Tony Robbins Hungry
stdio.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2002, 10:08 PM   #30   [permalink]
stdio.h
Forum Addicted
 
Join Date: 29 Nov 2000
Posts: 1,438
Send a message via AIM to stdio.h
YEAY!!! SUCCESS.

I installed it without a hitch. Good show I suppose.

My computer is not taking years to run at least. Now I have other problems like my monitor..... Too many things to buy....... dammit scarcity.
__________________
Tony Robbins Hungry
stdio.h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.