Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-09-2002, 06:28 PM   #1   [permalink]
rascal45
Forum Junkie
 
rascal45's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18 Mar 2001
Posts: 707
Installing a hard drive...HELP!

Okay, I'm having a bit of trouble with new hard drive I'm trying to install. I wanted to make it my new master drive and my old drive as my slave drive (which I planned to format at a later date and use it to burn files when I wanted.)

Anyway, does anybody know how to do that and could help me out? I'm installing a Maxstor 20GB hard drive to my computer.
rascal45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2002, 08:27 PM   #2   [permalink]
Takahashi
Forum Master
 
Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Mar 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Send a message via ICQ to Takahashi
There is an easy way and a hard way.
Easy way, just install the new harddisk and then install the OS(operating system) you want on the new disk. At this time your computer would recognise this as a dualboot system, you can format your old drive at a later date.

The hard way is a little inconvenience and elaborate.
First you have to back up all your files on the old HD, cause there is no turning back after this.
Restart in DOS, type Fdisk and delete dos partition.
Shutdown the computer and install your new HD, remember the master and slave cable(not really important and the speed gain is neglectable to none).
Start the computer in DOS, do Fdisk, this time you have to initialise your new HD make a dos partition on it as well as extended partitioned. One more thing remember you deleted the old dos partition, now you have to make it an extended dos partition and initialise it otherwise you can't use it.
Restart again, I take it you use windows, so you just wait for the setup cd to kick in, you then tell the computer to install on the new HD, it will ask you to format the HD.
After you finished installing the OS, you might want to format the old HD as cause windows can't write on it untill you do.

edit: `easy way`Forgot, you have to initialise the new HD, same way as creating an extended DOS partition.

Last edited by Takahashi; 25-09-2002 at 08:30 PM.
Takahashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 01:50 AM   #3   [permalink]
raymojo
Forum Junkie
 
Join Date: 6 Feb 2001
Location: - Toronto, Canada!
Posts: 953
You may have to reposition the jumpers on the hard drives to get the setup you desire. That is, if cable select doesn't work.
raymojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2002, 02:20 PM   #4   [permalink]
Takahashi
Forum Master
 
Takahashi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Mar 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,681
Send a message via ICQ to Takahashi
A suggestion if you don't feel up to it, get one of those computer geek friends to do it for you
Takahashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2002, 12:59 AM   #5   [permalink]
SaMADog
Forum Addicted
 
SaMADog's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9 Jan 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,055
Send a message via ICQ to SaMADog Send a message via AIM to SaMADog
If your doing it by XP its so much easier to do it by
start -> programs -> administrative Tools -> computer management
__________________
pulseman_x@hotmail.com
SaMADog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2002, 07:26 PM   #6   [permalink]
kasper
Forum Junkie
 
kasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14 Jan 2002
Location: i am a puyalluputian
Posts: 890
seems like everything is thought of in xp...
__________________
who needs a sig.. bah..
kasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2002, 03:40 AM   #7   [permalink]
GuGuEaTeR
Forum Master
 
GuGuEaTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 Dec 2001
Location: Stratosphere
Posts: 2,271
Send a message via AIM to GuGuEaTeR Send a message via MSN to GuGuEaTeR
you MUST have the slave/master jumpers or else the motherboard itself won't recognise it (i know, because i have 2 HDDs, 1 burner and a DVD player). configure either of the drive in master and the other slave. the master will always be c: and the slave will be the d: if you don't partition-seperate it. in win95, the maximum storage should be around 60Gb~75Gb, Win98 and Win2k about the same and WinXP should support more than 200Gbs (didn't try up to THAT level).

if you don't have more jumper things, just go to a computer store and they should have tonnes of them.

make sure you enable DMA too in the properties unless your HDD is pretty old that can't support DMA (majority should, unless yours is like 50Mb)
__________________
mplayer > * media players, period.

Last edited by GuGuEaTeR; 16-10-2002 at 03:42 AM.
GuGuEaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2002, 01:36 PM   #8   [permalink]
tfcreate
Forum Elite
 
tfcreate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Dec 2001
Location: K2 in meditation, then Chicago
Posts: 1,633
Send a message via AIM to tfcreate
Also, of you're running an ATA100 or better on your system as master, DO NOT make the DVD/Burner a slave on that same port. The transfer rates are vastly different, and your system will crawl, if it works at all.
TFC
__________________
~A sparrow takes to wing, a spider spins it's web.... a butterfly emerges from it's coccoon, ... everything happens for a reason.
tfcreate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2002, 02:43 AM   #9   [permalink]
GuGuEaTeR
Forum Master
 
GuGuEaTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 Dec 2001
Location: Stratosphere
Posts: 2,271
Send a message via AIM to GuGuEaTeR Send a message via MSN to GuGuEaTeR
the jumper settings are different according to drives. some do allow no jumpers and still allow activation (yes, those damn new ones that i haven't been able to afford yet, grr) because they have the detection thing built in them. but for the others (yes, you are not one of them since your drives are pretty new) you need jumpers.

if i'm wrong, prove why mine does need jumpers.

oh yeah, tfcreate is right too.
__________________
mplayer > * media players, period.
GuGuEaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2002, 08:59 PM   #10   [permalink]
GuGuEaTeR
Forum Master
 
GuGuEaTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 Dec 2001
Location: Stratosphere
Posts: 2,271
Send a message via AIM to GuGuEaTeR Send a message via MSN to GuGuEaTeR
yes, they are old because one's 2Gb and other's 30Gb
__________________
mplayer > * media players, period.
GuGuEaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.