Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2004, 12:17 PM   #1   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
CD drive settings??

When I originally got my computer, it would auto-run an audio CD when you put one in. Now, for some reason, when I try to use any of a variety of programs to play an audio CD, it won't work. It used to work, but sometime ago, it stopped working. The only program I know of that I have that plays them is PowerDVD. WMP and WinAMP both absolutely will not play audio CDs. Is there a troubleshooting guide or diagnostic or something, because PowerDVD isn't the best-designed CD player in the world, especially if I want visualizations with my music.
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 08:22 PM   #2   [permalink]
Splintr420
Forum Junkie
 
Splintr420's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 Jan 2003
Location: ATL/HOU
Posts: 919
Send a message via AIM to Splintr420
You could try doing system restore. You go to the start menu, All programs, Assesories, system tools, then system restore. It does not delete any info, but it will reset any setting set at a previous date. I'd restore it to a time before this started happening. try that
__________________
"Thats right... big sit."

Feh!

Saiyu sen jiko yo!
Splintr420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 11:17 PM   #3   [permalink]
Torkm
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
Torkm's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25 Oct 2000
Location: South Australia
Posts: 1,880
Send a message via ICQ to Torkm Send a message via AIM to Torkm
What version of Windows are you using raynebc?

You could try turning off the Digital Playback on your CD drive.
__________________
Torkm

Isn't Klonoa CUTE!
:smash:The Smashing Duo! - I'm not a doll and Torkm - Watch out or be Smashed!:smash:
Torkm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 04:49 AM   #4   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
Windows 98SE

I didn't find that system restore, but I've done things like check for modified/missing system files and whatnot. I probably just messed up the settings for the CD rom in the control panel. I'll try looking into the digital playback though, as long as it's part of the CD settings. Worst case scenario, I could try to just uninstall it and let Windows re-install drivers next time I start the computer. But I don't know if Windows will have kept the drivers I need or not.
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 09:30 PM   #5   [permalink]
Splintr420
Forum Junkie
 
Splintr420's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 Jan 2003
Location: ATL/HOU
Posts: 919
Send a message via AIM to Splintr420
have you tried contacting microsoft about this? that's probably the safest course of action.
__________________
"Thats right... big sit."

Feh!

Saiyu sen jiko yo!
Splintr420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 11:32 PM   #6   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
And pay them a fortune for "per incident" tech support? F*** that. I'll just rough it.
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 06:26 AM   #7   [permalink]
Splintr420
Forum Junkie
 
Splintr420's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 Jan 2003
Location: ATL/HOU
Posts: 919
Send a message via AIM to Splintr420
They really make you pay? Thats stupid. well, i guess this goes without saying: back up your computer before you redo everything.
__________________
"Thats right... big sit."

Feh!

Saiyu sen jiko yo!
Splintr420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 01:34 PM   #8   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
I believe Microsoft charges $30 per incident. I do have a couple backups I made of my computer as it was when I originally typed in the Windows 98SE serial key. So if I wanted to go to the effort, I could just revert it. I have pretty much all my stuff backed up onto CD-R anyway. And if not, I can back it up now.

I have a question though, I can't use a Windows backup file (from the Windows backup utility) to restore from a freshly-formatted drive, can I? I have to leave the Operating system on the hard drive to work with the backup file, right?
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 06:40 PM   #9   [permalink]
Splintr420
Forum Junkie
 
Splintr420's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 Jan 2003
Location: ATL/HOU
Posts: 919
Send a message via AIM to Splintr420
i think so. but do you have a DVD burner? thats an easy way to store your hardrive. takes 4 dvds and its backed up (unless yuou want to back up more than 18 gigs)
__________________
"Thats right... big sit."

Feh!

Saiyu sen jiko yo!
Splintr420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 02:18 PM   #10   [permalink]
raynebc
Forum Master
 
raynebc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19 Feb 2002
Location: Megumi Island
Posts: 2,371
Nope, just a CD burner. But I have all my stuff backed up on CD-R anyway, and all my install discs for programs. I just don't want to risk Windows f*cking itself up if I revert Windows to its backup state. Does anybody know where I can get the Full install disc for Windows 98SE (not upgrade version) for less than $50 or so?
__________________
Sydney-"If I'm rough, it's because you like it when I'm... are we on comms?"
Jack-"YES, you're both on comms RIGHT NOW"
raynebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2004, 10:19 PM   #11   [permalink]
Splintr420
Forum Junkie
 
Splintr420's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20 Jan 2003
Location: ATL/HOU
Posts: 919
Send a message via AIM to Splintr420
have you tried compUSA? they have everything. or you might try calling dell. although that'll be the most expensive place to buy. you might also try ebay. they have everything and are cheap.
__________________
"Thats right... big sit."

Feh!

Saiyu sen jiko yo!
Splintr420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winamp playlists Speedy General Non-Anime Discussion Archive 2000-2003 19 24-06-2002 04:37 AM
CD writing problem under XP VividDreamer Windows OS 2 17-06-2002 07:08 AM
sfc.exe prompts for winxp cd ? eva2000 Windows OS 2 08-06-2002 02:56 PM
CD boot Instrumentality Hardware 6 29-08-2001 10:40 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.