Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2005, 12:30 AM   #1   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
Cable ADSL providers in australia

Since moving to Sydney i want to get ADSL. I have heard rumours that where i am living does not support ADSL at present.

That means i might have to look into getting cable. Now i cant find any reference to cable anywhere. I know eva2000 has cable?

The house i am in has about 6 telephones on one line and now that i am looking into ADSL it seems it will be far more complicated than i originally thought due to this, so even is ADSL is avalible, cable might be a simpler option.

I was wondering what the difference is and where i can signup for it.

thanks

ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 04:04 AM   #2   [permalink]
eva2000
Administrator
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 Jun 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 12,409
I'm using Netspace ADSL www.netspace.net.au you can check for availability online at their web site. I'm sure one of those 6 lines will be ADSL capable.

ADSL has a higher max theorectical speed support but due to Telstra's and Aussie infrastructure support, cable in OZ (with Telstra anyway) has a higher average speed than ADSL residential max.

I highly recommend Netspace ADSL i'm on 1500/256 plan max average speed = 155-159KB/s and upload max 28-32KB/s

edit: they extended their Zero connection + FREE ADSL modem offer too http://home.netspace.net.au/broadband/connectfees.php

Sign UP https://signup.netspace.net.au/adsl/
__________________
be afraid... Admin cap is back... !

Last edited by eva2000; 02-01-2005 at 04:05 AM.
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 05:06 AM   #3   [permalink]
GuGuEaTeR
Forum Master
 
GuGuEaTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29 Dec 2001
Location: Stratosphere
Posts: 2,271
Send a message via AIM to GuGuEaTeR Send a message via MSN to GuGuEaTeR
ATh, what do you mean 6 telephones? Just telephones lying around in your house for easy access, or are the telephones shared by other people other than your family?

If it's the former then ADSL is easily an option. Number of telephones on a line doesn't matter since it's not like dialup where it uses frequency people can here; it goes much higher. That's why you use filters, and thus why you can use both the phone and the net at the same time.

On the other hand, if the line is shared by other people outside your family then you'd be in trouble if they want ADSL too. In such cases, you should get cable.

About 'rumours', the only way to check is to ask your telephone company. If you live in an area where the phone connections are the old paper-covered twisted pair then no ADSL there. If it's any house that's relatively new, then it should work fine.

For the note, only place I know that doesn't have ADSL in Sydney is Strathfield and there-abouts...
__________________
mplayer > * media players, period.
GuGuEaTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 01:03 AM   #4   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
There is only 1 phone line in the house, but there are 5 phones on that one line. That means i need a central splitter/filter rather than 5 filters.
Tomorrow i will be hponing around to see if ADSL is avalible in the area.

I will look at netspace too.

ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 02:22 AM   #5   [permalink]
eva2000
Administrator
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 Jun 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 12,409
ah yes you'd need the ADSL filter(s).
__________________
be afraid... Admin cap is back... !
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2005, 09:30 PM   #6   [permalink]
ATh
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
ATh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Jun 2000
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,982
Send a message via ICQ to ATh
no i need a central splitter as no more than 3 filters are to be used on the same phone line.

and eva2000, what email address do i give to netspace to say that you refferred me?
pm it to me if you want.

ATh
ATh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 08:13 PM   #7   [permalink]
eva2000
Administrator
 
eva2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23 Jun 2000
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 12,409
ah yes i can refer you using my referral center.. easy to pm me your addy and name and which plan you going on
__________________
be afraid... Admin cap is back... !
eva2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adsl Skulk Software Apps 4 06-12-2001 05:14 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.