Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-04-2001, 01:38 AM   #1   [permalink]
Commander Fuyutsuki
Forum Master
 
Commander Fuyutsuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Oct 2000
Location: Vana'diel
Posts: 5,291
Send a message via ICQ to Commander Fuyutsuki Send a message via AIM to Commander Fuyutsuki
I'm lookking into getting a new comp and it has the option of getting a Intel Pentium processor or an AMD Athlon processor. My friends keep insisting that AMD makes a better processor, whats you guys opinion on the matter?
__________________
PRO-CHOICE QUOTE OF THE WEEK


Keep your roasries off my ovaries!


This quote of the week brough to you by Pabst Blue Ribbon.
Commander Fuyutsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2001, 02:20 AM   #2   [permalink]
Drizzten
Ex Moderator V.I.P.
 
Drizzten's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Sep 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 13,383
Send a message via AIM to Drizzten
*whinces at the shi-shink! of loading flamethrowers*

Could you lay out what you plan to do with the computer? Graphics-intensive? Programming? Sound production? Surfing, e-mail, and typing? Pound for pound, they are really indistinguishable from each other in your standard office applications...
__________________
Magnifisyncopathological, because other people are not your property.
Drizzten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2001, 04:13 PM   #3   [permalink]
JetErNyY02
Forum Master
 
JetErNyY02's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 Aug 2000
Location: ATL
Posts: 5,818
Send a message via AIM to JetErNyY02
i think amd is better. it depends on what you're gona use the comp for.

i'm gona build a puter. it's gona be so friggin awesome
__________________
What do you know about tweetle beetles? well.. When tweetle beetles fight it's called a tweetle beetle battle. And when they battle in a puddle it's a tweetle beetle puddle battle. AND when tweetle beetles battle with paddles in a puddle, they call it a tweetle beetle puddle paddle battle. AND... When beetles battle beetles in a puddle paddle battle and the beetle battle puddle is a puddle in a bottle....they call this a tweetle beetle bottle puddle paddle battle muddle. AND..... When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles and the bottle's on a poodle and the poodle's eating noodles....they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle bottle paddle battle.
JetErNyY02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2001, 05:54 PM   #4   [permalink]
SamIam
Forum Master
 
SamIam's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Nov 2000
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 3,557
well... to answer the question of which CPU is better, I would have to qualify the anwswer...

If price is a critical factor... go with AMD, in particular, the Duron 900..
If ugrading a mobo... you are constrained by the board design...
If desiring a dual proc mobo... Intel, (AMD) is lagging here...

perfomance wise, the flagships for the two companies are very competitive in terms of actual real world performance. In fact, in today's state of the art desktops, it is probably not the cpu that is the major bottleneck for performance... far more likely bus systems, memory amount and type, transmission protocols (IDE vs. SCSI vs. FireWire vs. USB ....), and of course Operating system.

Personally I like AMD due to the "bang for the buck" ratio...

SamIam
SamIam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2001, 11:11 AM   #5   [permalink]
928GTS
Banned
 
928GTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Oct 2000
Location: On a 10,000 RPM Hard Drive
Posts: 6,024
Send a message via ICQ to 928GTS Send a message via AIM to 928GTS
AMD leads the pack the Athlon and Duron are both great in performance and dirt cheap(the Duron is even more dirt cheap)
928GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2001, 07:57 AM   #6   [permalink]
SaMADog
Forum Addicted
 
SaMADog's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9 Jan 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,055
Send a message via ICQ to SaMADog Send a message via AIM to SaMADog
Most people go for AMD for the price. But if ya thinking of overclocking Intel have always been good at doing that!
__________________
pulseman_x@hotmail.com
SaMADog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2001, 09:30 AM   #7   [permalink]
928GTS
Banned
 
928GTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Oct 2000
Location: On a 10,000 RPM Hard Drive
Posts: 6,024
Send a message via ICQ to 928GTS Send a message via AIM to 928GTS
Not anymore Intel has locked their clock multipliers which has made them MUCH harder to OC
928GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2001, 06:28 AM   #8   [permalink]
bloodgod
Forum Master
 
bloodgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Aug 2000
Posts: 2,309
If U gonna rip UR TV then a P3 and All-in-wonder iz best.
Everything else AMD
bloodgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2001, 05:08 PM   #9   [permalink]
suzaku
Forum Master
 
suzaku's Avatar
 
Join Date: 25 Feb 2001
Location: Cephiro
Posts: 3,255
Send a message via ICQ to suzaku Send a message via AIM to suzaku Send a message via Yahoo to suzaku
get AMD...its much cheaper than intel

AMD has Athlon w/c can even beat intel's p4...
__________________
When in doubt with thoughts, one must drink a cup of sake
suzaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2001, 07:31 PM   #10   [permalink]
oAscensioNo
Forum Addicted
 
oAscensioNo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15 Oct 2000
Location: Seto, Japan
Posts: 1,199
Intel all the way, baayyybyyyy...
__________________
---- censorship.
oAscensioNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2001, 09:07 PM   #11   [permalink]
928GTS
Banned
 
928GTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Oct 2000
Location: On a 10,000 RPM Hard Drive
Posts: 6,024
Send a message via ICQ to 928GTS Send a message via AIM to 928GTS
Besides Intels are EXTREMELY expensive(compared to AMD)
928GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2001, 03:03 PM   #12   [permalink]
Yumiko
Forum Addicted
 
Join Date: 26 Jun 2000
Posts: 1,368
get the AMD duron 1GHz!! 50% OC!!

that's what i'm gonna be getting when i save up enough.
Yumiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2001, 04:08 PM   #13   [permalink]
JetErNyY02
Forum Master
 
JetErNyY02's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30 Aug 2000
Location: ATL
Posts: 5,818
Send a message via AIM to JetErNyY02
duron 1 ghz hasn't released yet, has it?

i'm gona build mine..athlon 1.2ghz
__________________
What do you know about tweetle beetles? well.. When tweetle beetles fight it's called a tweetle beetle battle. And when they battle in a puddle it's a tweetle beetle puddle battle. AND when tweetle beetles battle with paddles in a puddle, they call it a tweetle beetle puddle paddle battle. AND... When beetles battle beetles in a puddle paddle battle and the beetle battle puddle is a puddle in a bottle....they call this a tweetle beetle bottle puddle paddle battle muddle. AND..... When beetles fight these battles in a bottle with their paddles and the bottle's on a poodle and the poodle's eating noodles....they call this a muddle puddle tweetle poodle beetle noodle bottle paddle battle.
JetErNyY02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2001, 08:33 PM   #14   [permalink]
928GTS
Banned
 
928GTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21 Oct 2000
Location: On a 10,000 RPM Hard Drive
Posts: 6,024
Send a message via ICQ to 928GTS Send a message via AIM to 928GTS
No the Durons only go upto 900mhz
928GTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2001, 12:07 AM   #15   [permalink]
SamIam
Forum Master
 
SamIam's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24 Nov 2000
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 3,557
I wish that third party manufacturers and AMD start promoting a dual processor board soon...

For performance gains, if the OS and software support it, multiple processors have much potential yet to be exploited.
SamIam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTF's AMD been doing? Sagara Hardware 11 08-11-2002 01:26 PM
Intel PIII -> in Intel PII motherboards, is that possible? Takahashi Hardware 7 07-01-2002 08:48 PM
p4 or amd? Panzer Hardware 19 22-10-2001 07:07 AM
downgrade to Intel! MrBS Hardware 6 08-02-2001 04:00 AM
Intel info! fireguy Hardware 9 02-02-2001 08:46 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.