Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2003, 01:24 PM   #1   [permalink]
AchtungAffen
Forum Master
 
AchtungAffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4 Nov 2001
Location: Rei Liberation Parade
Posts: 3,977
Send a message via ICQ to AchtungAffen Send a message via MSN to AchtungAffen
sudbomains with apache?

Hi, can anyone explain this apache n00b how to do subdomains with apache? Thanks!
__________________
REI LIBERATION PARADE
Eva resources en espaņol
AchtungAffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 06:07 PM   #2   [permalink]
Nulani
Forum Master
 
Nulani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Dec 2000
Location: Norway.
Posts: 6,840
Send a message via ICQ to Nulani Send a message via AIM to Nulani Send a message via MSN to Nulani Send a message via Yahoo to Nulani
It's pretty easy to do.
All you will have to do is add the following directives to the httpd.conf file, which is normally located in /etc/apache.

PHP Code:
NameVirtualHost *

<
VirtualHost *>
ServerAdmin Webmasters e-mail address
DocumentRoot Path to the files
: /var/www
DirectoryIndex 
Default fileindex.html, default.html
ServerName Url to the webpage
subdomain.somewhere.tld
</Virtual Host
Then you will have to restart Apache, and it should be working.

Last edited by Nulani; 06-11-2003 at 06:10 PM.
Nulani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 06:59 PM   #3   [permalink]
AchtungAffen
Forum Master
 
AchtungAffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4 Nov 2001
Location: Rei Liberation Parade
Posts: 3,977
Send a message via ICQ to AchtungAffen Send a message via MSN to AchtungAffen
Let me see if I understood right (code on normal, arguments on italic)
Quote:
NameVirtualHost
<VirtualHost>
ServerAdmin achtungaffen@achtungaffen.com
DocumentRoot c:/achtungaffen/site
DirectoryIndex index.htm
ServerName subdomain.achtungaffen.com
</VirtualHost>
Is that correct?

(THANKS!)
AchtungAffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 02:39 PM   #4   [permalink]
Nulani
Forum Master
 
Nulani's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16 Dec 2000
Location: Norway.
Posts: 6,840
Send a message via ICQ to Nulani Send a message via AIM to Nulani Send a message via MSN to Nulani Send a message via Yahoo to Nulani
You will have to add an asterix after NameVirtualHost.

PHP Code:
NameVirtualHost 
Beyond that, I would say yes. I haven't used Apache in Windows, so I can't guarantee it though.
Nulani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 03:22 PM   #5   [permalink]
AchtungAffen
Forum Master
 
AchtungAffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4 Nov 2001
Location: Rei Liberation Parade
Posts: 3,977
Send a message via ICQ to AchtungAffen Send a message via MSN to AchtungAffen
Thanks!
AchtungAffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 07:04 PM   #6   [permalink]
AchtungAffen
Forum Master
 
AchtungAffen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4 Nov 2001
Location: Rei Liberation Parade
Posts: 3,977
Send a message via ICQ to AchtungAffen Send a message via MSN to AchtungAffen
One thing more, I think its <VirtualHost *>

At least, that's what the example in httpd.conf said (although I didn't understand much of the rest of the example's syntax)
AchtungAffen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.