Old 23-12-2012, 08:49 PM   #1   [permalink]
MeMyself
Forum Junkie

Red face Darker Than Black

Most of you have probably already seen this series. I have seen where it is referred to and talked about quite a bit. But this is my first time watching Darker Than Black, and I have gotten through disc 1, the first five episodes. Liking dark animes, I am attracted to the title. However, so far it is not as dark as I would hope. But by the end of disc 1, that may change.

The world of humans is also being inhabited by non-human Contractors hired as assassins. This includes the legendary Dark Reaper. There are also mindless Dolls who are programmed to do what they are designed to do. There is a lot of other weird stuff which would take too long to explain. That's the series.

I tried watching both the English dub and the Japanese dub with subtitles. But there is a lot of dialog for an action series, and I found it too hard to keep up with all the subtitles. So from now on it is English only.

I'm sticking the the series for now and will get back to you on my impressions. Meanwhile, NO SPOILERS PLEASE!
MeMyself is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2012, 12:03 AM   #2   [permalink]
MeMyself
Forum Junkie

I just finished disc 2, episodes 6-10. There is a bit of comedy relief with a two-parter in episodes 7 and 8, but then it gets dark again.

The color scheme used in the artwork is quite ordinary. That is a bit of a weakness. If this is to be a dark anime, it would be so much more effective to have used a more bland color scheme, say for example like Boogiepop Phantom or parts of Claymore. The use of bright colors makes me wonder if Darker Than Black is supposed to be dark at all. The animation is not bad, but it doesn't exactly set new standards either.